Iowa IndyCar: Josef Newgarden heads Penske 1-2-3 in practice – IndyCar


Josef Newgarden headed a Penske 1-2-3 in the IndyCar practice session at Iowa, beating Will Power and Simon Pagenaud to the fastest time.

Newgarden clocked in a 17.3397s lap (185.609mph) with seven minutes of the session to go, as the field started to run in qualifying trim in the latter stages.

Power wound up just 0.0326 seconds down on Newgarden, as Pagenaud joined his Penske team-mates in the top three – with just two minutes of the session to go – with a 17.4533s lap.

The top four was occupied exclusively by Chevrolet-powered cars, as Ed Carpenter’s 17.4783s lap from early on in the session held strong among the qualifying runs.

Marco Andretti was the fastest of the Honda runners in fifth, ahead of Tony Kanaan and Mikhail Aleshin, the latter of whom had been within the top three for the first hour.

Alexander Rossi was eighth fastest, beating fellow Honda runners James Hinchcliffe and Graham Rahal, who ensured that the top 10 was covered by less than 0.2s.

Championship leader Scott Dixon was only 16th fastest, having been forced to miss the final 20 minutes of the session as a penalty for a pit-lane transgressions at Road America.

Practice was extended by five minutes after JR Hildebrand lost control of his Dallara-Chevrolet towards the end of the session, hitting the wall at Turn 2 and narrowly avoiding team-mate Carpenter.

Esteban Gutierrez was 19th in his first full oval-track session during a race weekend, just under 0.4s down on Newgarden’s fastest time around the 0.875-mile track.


Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap Laps
1 Josef Newgarden Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 17.3397s 47
2 Will Power Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 17.3723s 0.0326s 51
3 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 17.4533s 0.1136s 48
4 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 17.4783s 0.1386s 47
5 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 17.4937s 0.1540s 50
6 Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 17.5133s 0.1736s 36
7 Mikhail Aleshin Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 17.5160s 0.1763s 40
8 Alexander Rossi Andretti Herta Dallara/Honda 17.5232s 0.1835s 39
9 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 17.5240s 0.1843s 49
10 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda 17.5250s 0.1853s 55
11 Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 17.5621s 0.2224s 64
12 Max Chilton Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 17.6044s 0.2647s 57
13 Ed Jones Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 17.6267s 0.2870s 51
14 Carlos Munoz AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Chevrolet 17.6369s 0.2972s 60
15 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 17.6522s 0.3125s 60
16 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 17.6554s 0.3157s 36
17 J.R. Hildebrand Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 17.6994s 0.3597s 51
18 Helio Castroneves Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 17.7076s 0.3679s 69
19 Esteban Gutierrez Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 17.7369s 0.3972s 60
20 Takuma Sato Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 17.7555s 0.4158s 59
21 Conor Daly AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Chevrolet 17.9606s 0.6209s 53

Source link

Articles You May Like

Buriram MotoGP test: Dani Pedrosa puts Honda top on final day – MotoGP
Harvick: Daytona poleman Bowman’s NASCAR Duel strategy a waste of time – NASCAR
Haas F1 team clarifies its position on American drivers in F1 – F1
Haas F1 launch: First 2018 Formula 1 car revealed – F1
Buriram MotoGP test: Confidence issues led Lorenzo to try 2017 bike – MotoGP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *